Because of the size and constitutional structure of London, a non-statutory title and office of ‘Representative Deputy Lieutenant’ was created in 1951 by Viscount Alanbrooke. The Lord-Lieutenant selects one of his Deputies to represent him in each of the 32 London Boroughs (except the City) shown below. Their main functions are to represent the Lieutenancy and occasionally the Lord-Lieutenant at civic and other official functions, and also to promote voluntary, charitable and youth activities within their borough.

Interactive map of boroughs

Hover your cursor or click on the map for Borough information…

Deputy lieutenants

Borough Deputy Lieutenant
Barking & Dagenham Mr Ian Pittaway DL
Barnet Mr Martin Russell MBE DL
Bexley Mr David Easton  JP DL
Brent Miss Mei Sim Lai OBE DL
Bromley Colonel RW Murfin TD DL
Camden Ms Roxane Zand DL
Croydon Colonel Ray Wilkinson QVRM TD DL VR
Ealing Mr Richard Kornicki CBE DL
Enfield Mrs Ann Cable MBE DL
Greenwich Mr Matt Burrow DL
Hackney Mr Stephen Howlett CBE DL
Hammersmith & Fulham Mr Kevin McGrath OBE DL
Haringey Captain Peter Baker RD DL RNR
Harrow Mr Simon Ovens DL
Havering Mr Nick Bracken OBE DL
Hillingdon Ms Manju Malhi BEM DL
Hounslow Ms Rosi Prescott DL
Islington Mr Paul Herbage MBE KStJ DL
Kensington & Chelsea The Rt Hon The Earl Cadogan DL
Kingston upon Thames Fr Martin Hislop DL
Lambeth Mr Christopher Wellbelove DL
Lewisham Sir Steve Bullock DL
Merton Mr Chris Cotton DL
Newham Mr Kim Bromley-Derry CBE DL
Redbridge Mr Thomas Chan DL
Richmond upon Thames Gillian Norton OBE DL
Southwark Col Simon Duckworth OBE DL
Sutton Major Christopher Goodwin TD DL
Tower Hamlets Mr Leslie Morgan OBE DL
Waltham Forest Major Jeremy Fern TD DL
Wandsworth Mrs Colleen Harris MVO DL
Westminster Mr Stuart Shilson LVO DL